Fool Proof Skin Care Routine

   I believe everyone deserved clear skin. Recently, I have adopted a fool proof way to clear mine. I had never struggled with acne before, away from merely one spot here or there, but not to the extent that it starting a few months ago. One left, another one came, it felt like a never ending battle that I was far from used to.

Before I begin, my skin is combination, more on the oily side. I have extremely small pores and sensitive skin. So what works for me may not work for you. I undergo-ed immense trial and error the past months.

For example, I used to apply coconut oil and it started a war on my face. I put it in my eyebrows to make them grow and they broke out. I put it on my lips for a natural moisturizer and all around my lips broke out as well. Me and coconut oil do not get along, but some of my friends swear by that magical butter.

Also alcohol as an astringent broke me out as well, although making my face feel and look squeaky clean, it dried out my face too much, thus creating more oil than I needed and with that more acne! Now, I only use alcohol as a spot treatment to dry up pesky pimples.

Pro tip: Ask your parents what they did for their face when they were your age and now, what worked/works for them will 91% sure work for you too! Granted that your skin came from theirs.

I discovered what worked for me, and perhaps what will work for you as well. Here, is my five step plan to a clear complexion (In order of what to do). Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.28.18 PM   First I wash my face and create a lather with African Black Soap or Charcoal Soap either one works wonders. Rinse off with a bit of cold water and they will truly leave your face squeaky clean!

You can buy black soap on amazon by the pound or you can pick up a bar at target too!

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.28.26 PM   I don’t exfoliate everyday (3x weekly), and I don’t have a certain scrub I use/recommend that saved me , but exfoliating is extremely important. I use a wet washcloth or my Clarisonic (circular motions) to schluff away impurities and dead skin cells mixed with a bit of St. Ives Apricot Scrub or Neutrogena Stress Control Scrub. Rinse this away with warm water and continue on my routine.

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.28.33 PM   Witch Hazel, truly magical. Especially if it is Thayer’s brand. I would like to formally thank Mr. Thayer himself in person for producing this beautiful product. It is made of all natural ingredients that do wonders for your skin— aloe vera, water, glycerin, rose, and non-distilled witch hazel. I use it as a toner and apply it with a two cotton ovals; one for the top half of my face and one for the bottom.

I bought the Rose Petal one, mostly because that’s all they had at target, but it smells amazing and has all the properties of rose water added as well. They have loads of different scents and kinds, but alas, if you don’t want to pay close to ten dollars for a holy 12 oz of Thayer’s Witch Hazel you can always buy any witch hazel at the store in the aisle you would find rubbing alcohol in.

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.28.42 PM   I can go on for decades about essential oils and how they’ve helped my acne and well being. My mom is obsessed with essential oils so I have cases upon cases hanging around my house, but they are somewhat pricey so I don’t want to bore you with ones you don’t need. To keep it simple I really enjoy the Correct X from Doterra. It is made up of Lavender, Melaleuca, Frankincense, Helichrysum, and Cedarwood. Apply by simply rubbing into your skin

Oils Mentioned:

Lavender Oil Cleanses and soothes skin and nourishes all skin types

Melaleuca/Tea Tree Oil Helps the healing process of acne and other problems

Frankincense Oil “King of Essential Oils” rejuvenates and tightens skin

Helichrysum Oil Extreme anti-aging properties

Cedar wood Oil Reduces skin irritations and cures acne by protecting pores

Other Great Oils and their uses:

(Please note, I do not use all of these oils, but have heard nothing but good about them and their benefits. Also note that some of them share benefits. I listed things that they do differently.)

Sweet Almond Oil Prevent future acne by dislodging skin debris and helps remove dark circles

Marula Oil Promotes good looking skin and brightens complexion.

Jojoba Oil Hydrates and diminishes wrinkles

Hemp Oil Regenerates and energizes the skin’s protective layer while moisturizing.

Argan Oil Reduces sebum levels, inflammation, and heals damaged skin cells.

Tamanu Oil Heals acne scars

Rosehip Oil Reduces redness and inflammation overnight

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.28.52 PM   I believe this is what really transformed my skin, mixing aloe vera with Correct X and using it as if it were a moisturizer. I apply it daily— sometimes even twice. Aloe Vera is known to work wonders on your skin, but I just thought it was for soothing sunburns.

When I discovered you could cure acne with it I was stoked. I ran to target and rummaged through all the isles to find one made for your face, I couldn’t, so I settled on a UNSCENTED, ALCOHOL, AND DYE FREE one. It was cheap and is highly effective.

You can even use this as a mask applying a thick layer and letting it dry or a scrub; mixing it with other household items.

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.28.58 PMMasks: Masks are my life, I would love to pamper myself with a new one every twenty four hours, but I don’t, as I heard you’re “not supposed to”, but I love buying the brand Que Bella from target and experimenting with the different kinds. I also took advice from my mom and use Noxzema as a face mask as well— applying it with a brush then waiting for it to dry (You can do this more as it’s not really a mask). I rinse my masks off with water and remove in circular motions with my fingers.

Tea: We all should know that green tea is great for your skin topically, but I purchased Yogi’s Skin Detox at a local health food store and although I don’t know if it really made a difference, I love tea so I didn’t mind drinking it everyday and my mind was telling me it was doing something… It was a great internal reset I’m sure.

Diet: What you eat has a lot to do with what you look like physically, I try to stay far away from dairy, and eat as plant-based as I possibly can. Lots of fruit and lots of veg aside from protein bars and KIND granola…

Face Mapping: This helps a lot, pin pointing where your acne is coming from so you can resume to war.

face map

My acne was coming from stress and digestion so I tried to incorporate more sleep and more kombucha. Nonetheless my face is now clear, so something I stated above worked :).

Repeat daily, unless stated otherwise. I wish you clear skin and good luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

