Back to the Future

Back to the Future, Sixteen Candles, Dazed and Confused, 10 Things I Hate About You. A few of my favorite movies. I believe I myself was born in the wrong time. When I watch old movies or even look through old photographs my heart aches for the time in which they were placed.

I’ve always had an obsession with anything old, everything that has anything to do with when my parents were teenagers. My room is filled with old albums, photographs, and dusty knick knacks.

I can never decide which decade I adore the most from the 60’s to the mid 80’s but its definitely between that range.

The over all aura of these times just appear so much better. I am beyond aware that I might be glossing over the faults of these decades through my eyes, every year has it’s faults, but I believe in looking over the bad and seeing the good in everything. In doing this I think these decades were the absolute least of our worries.

One of the things I envy the most about those times is that there was no technology, nothing putting up a false perception of yourself, there was still mystery of who someone was. Now a days you have a device that tracks and keeps track of what anyone is doing. This is incredible don’t get me wrong, I just believe life was lived so much better when not everyone knew what was going on. When people had to talk to one another, they had to go find their friends, they had to go outside and actually live.

I say this while typing on a computer, watching tv, with my phone sitting next to me. I know rather contradictory but I could live without it, I could live without this extension of me I’ve created, I’d actually prefer that over all.

Sometimes I wish I could just go back in time and watch everything happen and be apart of it all.

I just want to forever remind you to leave your phone at home from time to time and participate in your life. Bring along a film camera or polaroid if you must. See where that takes you.

m.e.

Leave a Reply

